back to all

Why you should inspire your young ones to read-

POSTED ON25 Oct 2018

Share

In today’s digital world, it is difficult to integrate the habit of reading among young children. Television, the internet, and smartphone have not only become part of our lives but the younger generation have gradually become dependent on it. With stunning visual cartoons and interactive games easily accessible to children, it is not quite easy to direct them towards reading.

But reading is more than just an activity, it is a basic skill that lays the foundation required for every individual to build themselves further.  It is a complex cognitive process of coding and decoding symbols to construct and derive meaning. Reading facilitates language acquisition, communication, and helps gain knowledge, share ideas, and opinions for our daily life.

Therefore, cultivating the habit of reading among young children is essential for their growth. The key to encouraging young children to read is motivation, as well as developing their skill and will to read. Ms. Nahed Salem, Trainer & International Lecturer, talks about how to encourage kids to read in this digital age in her master’s thesis. She discusses that during the period of elementary school, it is critical to support children in both affective and cognitive aspects of literacy development. She refers to the term ‘engaged reader’. “The engaged reader is motivated, knowledgeable, strategic and socially interactive.” (Salem, 6) Hence, as a parent, you should inspire your kids to be engaged readers.

So, how can one create an environment where they can encourage their young ones to read? Introduce bedtime stories to your young one’s routine since “hearing stories has a direct impact on vocabulary development; and children who are read to at least 3 times a week start to read and comprehend better.” (Salem, 10) It is always good to begin with light reading like magazines, comics that interest them since they will encourage them to read and in time, will lead to more serious reading.

According to Salem, a literacy learning model by Camborne proposes that “motivation and reading development are fostered when children are immersed in a book rich environment.” Having a little library corner dedicated to reading contributes to how much reading is done. Not only for kids but also for the entire family. This will also make it easier for kids to get into the habit of reading by watching their elders. You can set an example by engaging yourself in reading too, as you are, and will always be your children’s first role model and they will always look up to you.

Tags

العودة لجميع الملفات

هل حان الوقت لليأس من تعويد الأطفال على القراءة؟

تم نشره يوم25 أكتوبر 2018

Share

في عالم اليوم الرقمي، أصبح من الصعب جعل القراءة عادة بين الأطفال الصغار، حيث لم يصبح التلفزيون والإنترنت والهاتف الذكي أجزاءًا أساسيةً من حياتنا نحن فحسب، بل إننا نشهد كذلك اعتماد الجيل الأصغر تدريجيا عليها. ومع الطفرة الهائلة في الرسوم البصرية المذهلة والألعاب التفاعلية التي يسهل على الأطفال الوصول إليها ، لم يعد من السهل توجيههم نحو القراءة. فهل نيأس من تعليم الأطفال الصغار القراءة؟

تتجاز قيمة القراءة كونها مجرد نشاط ترفيهي، بل هي بلا ريب مهارة أساسية تضع اللّبِنة الأولى اللازمة لكل فرد ليمضي قُدُمًا في تكوين شخصيته وبناء نفسه. فالقراءة عملية معرفية معقدة يتولى خلالها القارئ تشفير رموز وفك شيفرات رموز أخرى للوصول إلى بناء المعنى واشتقاقه. كما أن القراءة تُسهّل تعلّم وتنمية المهارات اللغوية وتعزز التواصل وتساعد على اكتساب المعرفة وتبادل الأفكار والآراء في حياتنا اليومية.

لذلك ، فإن غرس عادة القراءة بين الأطفال الصغار يُعدُّ من الأولويات التي لا بد من أخذها بعين الاعتبار نظرًا لمدى أهميتها في عملية نموهم. ولا ريب أن المفتاح لتشجيع الأطفال على القراءة هو التحفيز، بالإضافة إلى العمل على تطوير مهاراتهم ورغبتهم في القراءة. وفي هذا الإطار، تتحدث السيدة ناهد سالم، المدربة والمحاضرة الدولية، الحاصلة على درجة الماجستير في أطروحتها عن كيفية تشجيع الأطفال على القراءة في عالم اليوم الرقمي. وشدّدت الأستاذة ناهد على أهمية دعم الجوانب العاطفية والمعرفية لدى الأطفال خلال فترة تعلّم القراءة والكتابة، مُشيرةً في هذا السياق إلى مصطلح "القارئ المتفاعل". وتقول الأستاذة ناهد : "يتّسم القارئ المتفاعل بالحماس والاطلاع والقدرة على التفاعل الاجتماعي". (سالم، 6) ومن ثمّ، ينبغي عليك ، كَوَلي أمر، أن تُلهم أطفالك ليكونوا قارئين متفاعلين.

إذن، كيف يمكن إنشاء بيئة يمكن من خلالها لأولياء الأمور تشجيع صغارهم على القراءة؟ تنصح الأستاذة ناهد بالبدء بإرساء عادة قصص ما قبل النوم ضمن عادات ابنك اليومية، نظرًا لأن " الاستماع إلى القصص يؤثر بشكل مباشر على تطوير المفردات؛ كما أن الأطفال الذين يتمّ القراءة لهم على الأقل 3 مرات في الأسبوع يبدأون القراءة والفهم بشكل أفضل. (سالم، 10) من الجيد دائمًا أن تبدأ القراءة البسيطة مثل المجلات والقصص المصورة التي تشد انتباههم لأنها تشجعهم على القراءة وبمرور الوقت، سيؤدي بهم إلى قراءة محتويات أكثر جدية.

وفقا للأستاذة نهاد سالم، فإن نموذج تعلم القراءة والكتابة من قبل كامبورن يقترح أن "تطور عامليْ التحفيز والقراءة يتعززان عند انغماس الأطفال في بيئة غنية بالكتب". إن وجود زاوية صغيرة من المكتبة مخصصة للقراءة يساهم في زيادة معدلات القراءة ليس للأطفال فحسب بل أيضاً لجميع أفراد العائلة. كما أنه سيكون من السهل على الأطفال أن يتعودوا على القراءة من خلال مشاهدة الكبار. يمكنك أن تكون قدوةً لطفلك من خلال الانخراط في القراءة أيضًا، وستكون دائمًا أول نموذج لأطفالك وسيتطلعون دائمًا إليك.

كلمات مفتاحية